Intelligent Design, What’s the Big Deal?

22Dec05

I’m using the new Performancing blogging extension for Firefox to post this entry. In my last post I was critical of the extension because it still lacks some of the features I feel is necessary for an in-browser blog editor. Nevertheless, I’m giving it another shot, because, to be honest, I didn’t even post with it. Anyway, time for discussion of something else.

I’m SO tired of the entire debate about “Intelligent Design” versus evolution. It’s tired. Why can’t people just get over it? I’m not a religious man. I was raised Catholic and received my first communion, but have since decided to remove myself from the entire scene because I think religion is too manipulative. Religion was created for those who need it, not everyone. So, I don’t see any real reason to practice because I’m stable, happy, successful, and not left with a wanting feeling at the end of the day. Fine. Good for me, right? Well, yes, good for me. I’m different though — I don’t think there are many people like me. I was raised with religion in my life, not in it now, but don’t have a problem with indidviduals or groups that value it.

I actually believe that having an understanding of our World’s religions is infinitely important knowledge to possess. I believe there is a place for it in schools. Educating our youth about religion does not mean the teacher or educational institution is advocating one ideology over another. Our society has turned into a hyper-sensitive piece of crap. The minorities have become more powerful than the majorities and, in my view, that is very dangerous.

The debate between Intelligent Design, which is a beautiful piece of wordsmithing, and evolution is unnecessary. Religion has been engrained in human existance for more years than anyone living has seen. Why debate it? Let it exist in an educational environment, but control it. There is no reason why Christianity, the World’s most popular religion with 2 billion followers, should be anything less than the focal point in classroom discussion — but it isn’t. Liberal psychopaths in our country’s educational system have co-opted the entire thing and altered the landscape. This needs to change, but unfortunately, there isn’t a real Conservative in office that has the balls to actually change the World. Dissappointing? Absolutely.

Religion is religion, always will be. Most religions have been around for at least a couple thousand years, so why not ensure that our children understand the beauty and shortcomings of the World’s religions? Isn’t that what education is about? Well, not in present time. Education is warped — it’s the Liberal bootcamp, preparing our kids for adulthood full of misguided thought and destructive behavior. Where did morality go? Why do we have to care about everyone’s feelings, like religion haters, when the vast majority of people are religious? Perfect example: “Happy Holidays” OR “Merry Christmas”?

Merry Christmas.

11 Responses to “Intelligent Design, What’s the Big Deal?”

  1. Cool, I’m glad you giving it another shot.
    This may sound cheesy, or even cliche, but I’m seriously interested in input and what you think could make it better.

    This isn’t about building some stupid app, it’s about building something that I myself would actually use.

    Yeah.. that came out cheesy πŸ˜‰

    Anyhow, if you have any suggestions, I’ll all ears man.

    Cheers
    -Jed

  2. Sorry I was totally off topic, I was talking about the first paragraph of you’re entry.

  3. Are you part of the Performancing development team? Sorry, will expand on my input/feedback later — at work now. Thanks for the comment.

    Judging by my quick visit to your blog, it’s good we’re talking technology and not politics. Might clash in that area. πŸ˜‰

  4. Mike,

    Yeah, I’m now part of performancing, and the extension’s author.

    Are you still having that ‘restart firefox’ issue? You might want to make sure that all instances of firefox are really gone once you close firefox.

    Anyhow.. haha yeah, I was venting on my blog, I havn’t read any of your other posts yet, but will do when I have some more time πŸ˜‰ Not that I like to debate, but I love hearing other people’s point of view.

    I’ve lived outside of the US about the same amount of time i’ve lived in the US, so my political/religious view are very different than most people I guess.

    Thanks for the feedback, I really hope I can make ‘performancing’ something that you find useful and can use.

    Cheers
    -Jed

  5. Hey Jed, thanks for stopping by again. I am still having that same problem. And I have made sure that all instances of the program are not running, so I’m not sure what’s up. I will say this though, it’s on my lap top from work, and I’ve had quite a few IT issues with it. It may just be the computer because it’s working beautifully on my home pc.

    About the ideological differences – I had one post about the Intelligent Design v. Evolution debacle. Just think it’s unnecessary and also think that we should just say merry Christmas and not worry so much about whether or not someone would be offended. Saw your post on the patriot act and that’s what spurred that comment.

    Hope you have a great holiday season, or Christmas or whatever you may celebrate. πŸ˜‰ Keep up the good work, I’ll be watching.


  1. 1 become introducer unsecured loans
  2. 2 instant life insurance no exam
  3. 3 the bet analyzer
  4. 4 carta postepay
  5. 5 allstate insurance texas homeowners
  6. 6 www pure poker net

Leave a Reply

